News

Driving an efficient and sustainable economy

The Stuttgart Technology and Innovation Campus S-TEC brings companies together with scientific institutions at the Stuttgart location. This combining of competence, knowledge and experience gives innovation a boost. Here, the S-TEC centers enable systematic and cross-industry collaboration on innovative research focuses in various project formats. Driving innovation through cooperation between science and business – that is the objective of S-TEC.

Future topics

S-TEC drives forward future topics with a high technical innovation character and bundles them into thematic fields: From novel production processes and changing markets to digital transformation and business model development to resilience and sustainability.

Strong through cooperation

Strong through collaboration and knowledge transfer: Innovative development only comes about when the different competencies collide and work together efficiently. In order for companies and scientific institutions to jointly drive forward future-oriented innovations, we find the necessary competencies and bring them together. In this way, we jointly strengthen the innovative power and resilient value creation at the science location in Stuttgart.

The collaboration with Fraunhofer IPA has been very helpful in prioritizing our ideas for data analysis of vibrations and deriving appropriate use cases from them. This has motivated us to make greater use of the potential of Machine Learning in addition to classical evaluation methods.

Daniel Weiß, Testimonial from Kessler

The team of Fraunhofer has developed an excellent overview of existing methods for quality assurance of neural networks in the context of the Quick Check. With their expertise, we hope to be able to take further steps in the direction of safe Artificial Intelligence.

Patrick Feth, Testimonial from SICK AG

As part of the Quick Check, Fraunhofer IPA developed promising initial approaches to solving our problem in a short time. A great added value resulted from the interdisciplinarity of the Fraunhofer IPA, which made it possible to approach our problem with expert knowledge from different disciplines.

Steffen Cordes und Kirsten Prill, Testimonials from Witzenmann GmbH

Dr. Andreas Wolf

Fraunhofer IPA presented us with impressive new methods through the Quick Check, which enables fast object localization without long learning times. Among the methods presented are promising approaches that can be implemented in industry.

Dr.-Ing. Andreas Wolf, Testimonial from robomotion

The results of the Quick Check were very promising, despite the short project time. We see a great opportunity here to sustainably improve the reliability and significance of one of the most important tests (AOI) of our electronics production and to relieve the production employees. We would definitely like to further pursue this topic.

Michael Auserwählt, Testimonial from Pilz GmbH & Co. KG

A common goal of Fraunhofer IPA and us is to make AI applicable and explainable. During the Quick Check, the IPA brought us one step closer to this goal with its competence and drive. It could already be shown in the short project time that not only the decision of neuronal networks is important, but also which image features lead to detect data manipulation and distortions. We hope to continue the productive collaboration.

Alexander Balz und Alexander Windberger, Testimonials from IDS Imaging Development Systems GmbH

From the idea to the innovative result

At the beginning of the cooperation there is an inquiry by your company. Get in touch directly with an appropriate contact person or let us find the right point of contact for you.

1

Request

After you have submitted an inquiry, in the 2nd step we identify the right project partners for your problem.

2

Identification of project partners

For an optimal advancement of innovations, the project partners are networked with their competences and experiences in the S-TEC.

3

Netzworking of the project partners

After we have gained an initial overview of the problem, the project planning takes place in the 4th step.

4

Project planning

We accompany you from the initial idea to the implementation of the product or application in your production or work context.

5

Accompaniment and implementation

Cooperation

We’re big on cooperation. You too can become part of our self-image and take advantage of our opportunities for cooperation.

Numbers and facts

>110 and 40

Quick Checks and Exploring Projects

45, 7 Mio.

Amount of funding

161

Participating scientists

Our partners

Logo des Stuttgarter Technologie- und Innovationscampus
Fraunhofer IPA Logo
Logo Fraunhofer IAO
Fraunhofer IBP Logo

News

Eine effiziente und nachhaltige Wirtschaft vorantreiben

Der Stuttgarter Technologie- und Innovationscampus S-TEC bringt Unternehmen mit wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen am Standort Stuttgart zusammen. Diese Bündelung von Kompetenz, Wissen und Erfahrung gibt Innovation Auftrieb. Hierbei ermöglichen die S-TEC Zentren eine systematische und branchenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit an innovativen Forschungsschwerpunkten in verschiedenen Projektformaten. Durch Kooperation von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft Innovation vorantreiben – das ist die Zielsetzung von S-TEC.

Zukunfts­­­­­­themen

S-TEC treibt Zukunftsthemen mit hohem technischen Innovationscharakter voran und bündelt sie in Themenfelder: Von neuartigen Produktionsverfahren und veränderten Märkten über Digitale Transformation und Geschäftsmodellentwicklung bis hin zu Resilienz und Nachhaltigkeit.

Stark durch Kooperation

Stark durch Zusammenarbeit und Wissenstransfer: Innovativer Fortschritt entsteht, wenn verschiedene Kompetenzen aufeinandertreffen und effizient zusammenarbeiten. Damit Unternehmen und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen gemeinsam zukunftsweisende Innovationen entwickeln können, finden wir die erforderlichen Kompetenzen und bringen sie zusammen. So fördern wir gemeinsam die Innovationskraft und sorgen für eine resiliente Wertschöpfung am Wissenschaftsstandort Stuttgart.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IPA hat uns sehr geholfen, unsere Ideen zur Datenanalyse von Schwingungen zu priorisieren und entsprechende Use Cases abzuleiten. Das hat uns motiviert, zusätzlich zu klassischen Auswertemethoden, die Potentiale des Maschinellen Lernens zu nutzen.

Daniel Weiß, Testimonial von Kessler

Das Team von Fraunhofer hat im Rahmen des Quick Checks einen ausgezeichneten Überblick über Methoden zur Qualitätssicherung von Neuronalen Netzen erarbeitet. Wir hoffen mit ihrer Kompetenz weitere Schritte in Richtung sicherer Künstlicher Intelligenz gehen zu können.

Patrick Feth, Testimonial der SICK AG

Im Rahmen des Quick Checks hat das Fraunhofer IPA vielversprechende erste Lösungsansätze für unsere Problemstellung erarbeitet. Ein großer Mehrwert ergab sich durch die Interdisziplinarität des Fraunhofer IPA, wodurch unsere Problemstellung mit Expertise aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen angegangen werden konnte.

Steffen Cordes und Kirsten Prill, Testimonials der Witzenmann GmbH

Dr. Andreas Wolf

Das Fraunhofer IPA stellte uns durch den Quick Check beeindruckende neue Methoden vor, die eine schnelle Objektlokalisierung ohne lange Einlernzeiten ermöglicht. Unter den vorgestellten Methoden sind vielversprechende Ansätze, um diese in der Industrie zu verwirklichen.

Dr.-Ing. Andreas Wolf, Testimonial von robomotion

Die Ergebnisse des Quick Checks waren trotz der kurzen Projektzeit sehr beeindruckend. Wir sehen die große Chance einer der wichtigsten Prüfungen (AOI) unserer Elektronikproduktion in seiner Zuverlässigkeit und Aussagekraft nachhaltig zu verbessern und die Mitarbeitenden aus der Produktion zu entlasten. Wir möchten dieses Thema auf jeden Fall weiter verfolgen.

Michael Auserwählt, Testimonial der Pilz GmbH & Co. KG

Ein gemeinsames Ziel des Fraunhofer IPA und uns ist es, KI anwendbar und erklärbar zu machen. Das IPA hat uns während des Quick Checks durch Kompetenz und Tatkraft diesem Ziel näher gebracht. Es konnte bereits in der kurzen Projektzeit gezeigt werden, dass nicht nur die Entscheidung Neuronaler Netze wichtig ist, sondern auch welche Bildmerkmale dazu führen, um Datenmanipulation und -verzerrungen zu erkennen. Wir hoffen, die produktive Zusammenarbeit weiter fortsetzen zu können.

Alexander Balz und Alexander Windberger, Testimonials der IDS Imaging Development Systems GmbH

Von der Idee zum innovativen Ergebnis

Am Anfang der Zusammenarbeit steht eine Anfrage durch Ihr Unternehmen. Nehmen Sie direkt Kontakt mit einem entsprechenden Ansprechpartner auf oder lassen Sie uns den richtigen Kontaktpunkt für Sie finden.

1

Anfrage

Nachdem Sie eine Anfrage gestellt haben, identifizieren wir im 2. Schritt die richtigen Projektpartner für Ihre Problemstellung.

2

Identifikation der Projektpartner

Für ein optimales Vorantreiben von Innovationen werden die Projektpartner mit ihren Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen im S-TEC vernetzt.

3

Vernetzung der Projektpartner

Nachdem wir uns einen ersten Überblick über die Problemstellung verschafft haben, erfolgt im 4. Schritt die Projektierung.

4

Projektierung

Wir begleiten Sie von der ersten Idee bis zur Umsetzung des Produkts oder der Anwendung in Ihrem Produktions- oder Arbeitskontext.

5

Begleitung und Durchführung

Zusammen­arbeit

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Unternehmen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen schreiben wir groß. Werden auch Sie Teil unseres Selbstverständnisses und nutzen Sie unsere vielseitigen Möglichkeiten der Kooperation.

Zahlen und Fakten

>110 und 40

Quick Checks und Exploring Projects

45, 7 Mio.

Fördervolumen

161

Beteiligte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler

Unsere Partner

Fraunhofer IPA Logo
Logo Fraunhofer IAO
Fraunhofer IBP Logo