Business Innovation Engineering Center

The Business Innovation Engineering Center increase the digital transformation and innovation capabilities of medium-sized businesses.
© Fraunhofer IPA; Photo: Rainer Bez

The central goal of the Business Innovation Engineering Center (BIEC) is to increase the digital transformation and innovation capabilities of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in Baden-Württemberg. The methods, tools and transfer formats used to achieve this, offer SMEs a targeted and implementation-oriented entry into the process of digital transformation and take into account their different needs and starting points.

New technologies, short-cycle changes in the markets and changing customer needs: Thedigital transformation poses challenges for many SMEs. At the same time, this is associated with a wide range of opportunities. On the one hand, it is necessary to develop and establish digital products and services as well as suitable business models. On the other hand, the digital transformation requires new forms of value creation, processes, and organizational and management structures. BIEC accompanies SMEs on this path with application-oriented transfer measures as well as scientifically based methods and tools that can be used in operational practice. This holistic approach provides SMEs with sustainable support in their transformation process.

Main research topics at BIEC

Implementing business model innovations

  • Analyze business models and uncover development potential
  • Tools and methods for developing digital business models

Rethinking organization and management systems

  • Agile organizational structures and digital business processes
  • Modern management concepts and management systems

Developing smart service bundles

  • Developing digitally supported products and services
  • Increasing customer value through the targeted use of data

Leveraging data-driven business and AI

  • Identifying potential uses of artificial intelligence in products and processes
  • Supporting the use of AI in SMEs

Using digital technologies

  • Learning about and trying out new technological possibilities
  • Shaping and improving business processes through the use of new technologies

Designing value creation in cooperation

  • Methods and tools for collaborative value creation
  • Shaping platform economy

Collaboration at BIEC

The transfer formats developed at BIEC are created in close exchange with SMEs so that they can benefit from the results at an early stage. These include individual quick checks to analyze potential, demonstrators and tools that make new technologies tangible, topic-specific workshops for low-threshold entry and comprehensive coaching offers. In addition, there is a close exchange with regional partners from all over Baden-Württemberg – such as chambers, associations, networks and business development agencies – to ensure a broad exchange of experience and knowledge.

Funded by

BW_Ministerium_MWAW

Projects

Our partners

Fraunhofer IPA Logo
Logo Fraunhofer IAO
Fraunhofer IBP Logo

Business Innovation Engineering Center

Die digitale Transformations- und Innovationsfähigkeit im Mittelstand steigern.
© Fraunhofer IAO; Foto: Ludmilla Parsyak

Das zentrale Ziel des Business Innovation Engineering Center (BIEC) ist die Steigerung der digitalen Transformations- und Innovationsfähigkeit von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) in Baden-Württemberg. Die Methoden, Werkzeuge und Transferformate, die dabei zum Einsatz kommen, bieten KMU einen zielgerichteten und umsetzungsorientierten Einstieg in den Prozess der digitalen Transformation und berücksichtigen ihre unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse und Ausgangspunkte.

Neue Technologien, erhebliche und kurzzyklische Veränderungen in den Märkten sowie sich wandelnde Kundenbedürfnisse: Die digitale Transformation stellt viele KMU vor Herausforderungen, ist jedoch auch mit vielfältigen Chancen verbunden. Auf der einen Seite gilt es, digitale Produkte und Dienstleistungen sowie passfähige Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln und zu etablieren. Auf der anderen Seite erfordert die digitale Transformation neue Wertschöpfungsformen, Prozesse sowie Organisations- und Führungsstrukturen. Das BIEC begleitet KMU auf diesem Weg mit anwendungsorientierten Transfermaßnahmen sowie wissenschaftlich fundierten Methoden und Werkzeugen, die in der betrieblichen Praxis eingesetzt werden können. Mit dieser ganzheitlichen Sichtweise werden KMU in ihrem Transformationsprozess nachhaltig unterstützt.

Forschungsschwerpunkte am BIEC

Geschäftsmodellinnovationen umsetzen

  • Geschäftsmodelle analysieren und Entwicklungspotenziale aufdecken
  • Werkzeuge und Methoden zur Entwicklung digitaler Geschäftsmodelle

Organisation und Führungssysteme neu denken

  • Agile Organisationsstrukturen und digitale Unternehmensprozesse
  • Moderne Führungskonzepte und Führungssysteme

Smarte Leistungsbündel entwickeln

  • Entwicklung digital unterstützter Produkte und Dienstleistungen
  • Steigerung des Kundennutzen durch die gezielte Nutzung von Daten

Data-driven Business und KI nutzen

  • Identifikation von Einsatzpotenzialen künstlicher Intelligenz in Produkten und Prozessen
  • Unterstützung des Einsatzes von KI in KMU

Digitale Technologien einsetzen

  • Neue technologische Möglichkeiten kennenlernen und ausprobieren
  • Unternehmensprozesse durch den Einsatz neuer Technologien gestalten und verbessern

Wertschöpfung kollaborativ gestalten

  • Methoden und Werkzeuge für die kollaborative Wertschöpfung
  • Plattformökonomie gestalten

Zusammenarbeit am BIEC

Die im BIEC entwickelten Transferformate entstehen im engen Austausch mit KMU, damit diese frühzeitig von den Ergebnissen profitieren können. Dazu gehören individuelle Quick Checks zur Potenzialanalyse, Demonstratoren und Tools, die neue Technologien erlebbar machen, themenspezifische Workshops für den niederschwelligen Einstieg und umfassende Coaching-Angebote. Ergänzend findet ein enger Austausch mit regionalen Partnern aus ganz Baden-Württemberg statt – wie Kammern, Verbänden, Netzwerken und Wirtschaftsförderungen – um einen breiten Erfahrungs- und Wissensaustausch zu gewährleisten.

Gefördert durch

BW_Ministerium_MWAW

Projekte

Unsere Partner

Logo des Stuttgarter Technologie- und Innovationscampus
Fraunhofer IPA Logo
Logo Fraunhofer IAO
Fraunhofer IBP Logo